Marvin Gaye’s Family Asks Court: End ‘Blurred Lines’ For Good

There may very well be a chance that “Blurred Lines” could cease to be played. Continue reading Marvin Gaye’s Family Asks Court: End ‘Blurred Lines’ For Good

Watch Tiara Thomas’ New Video For “Best Kept Secret”

Bad girl with great talent. Introducing…

Tiara Thomas is best known for her two collaborations with Wale. “The Cloud,” one of Wale’s More About Nothing standout records, showed off Thomas’ raspy-but-sensually-captivating singing skills, and her deft ability to weave guitar strings into melody, and “Bad”–a record Tiara actually penned herself before Wale turned it into a top 5 Billboard Hip-Hop record–was more of the same. In 2015, Tiara is prepping her proper Interscope debut, The Bad Influence, and if the two Wale records are any indication, she’s certainly got the talent to carve out a successful solo lane. “Best Kept Secret,” which is actually an appropriate nickname for the Indiana native, is proof of that, and you can watch the video for it above.

Chief Keef and Interscope Part Ways

All good things come to end, well in this case it’s probably better to say all tumultuous relationships have strange, unexpected conclusions. Chief Keef, the face of Chicago’s Drill scene, has been dropped from Interscope Records, his label since his explosion of popularity in 2012. The unfortunate break up was initially announced from Keef’s twitter page, but was then officially announced from a spokesperson at Interscope.

The young rapper hasn’t been providing the spark that the label was hoping for since his emergence, with his debut Finally Rich. While he still commands a strong Chitown and street following, he has had trouble breaking into the radio crowd. Additionally, his troubles with the law haven’t made his case any easier. He did try to appease his bosses, moving to Los Angeles to be closer to their head offices, but it seems that it wasn’t enough. Without any word for when his sophomore album would drop and less than whisper mentions of his mixtape/EP, it seems that King Sosa has not been having a good go at it.

Keef remains optimistic about the situation and promises that the releases he promised will soon be fans’ hands. Look out for more information as we receive, here at the Source.

Pete Rock Reveals Role On Kendrick Lamar’s Upcoming Sophomore Album

Pete Rock on the hook, h*e

Kendrick Lamar‘s yet to be titled or confirmed 2014 sophomore album has been rumored to have a tentative September release date, and just about everybody in the industry has been clamoring to see what the good kid from Compton has been up to in the two years since his paradigm-shifting debut album, good kid, m.A.A.d. city was released.

One thing’s for sure, he’s been kicking it with the legendary Pete Rock.

In an exclusive interview with XXL, Pete Rock revealed that he’s slowly been cooking up different projects with Top Dawg Entertainment, including some work with ScHoolboy Q–he and Mac Miller used an old jazz beat Pete Rock had crafted–and he sings the hook on one of the tracks on Kendrick Lamar’s upcoming album, much like he did for Nas‘ “World Is Yours” off his 1994 debut, Illmatic.

Pete Rock had this to say about what he and K. Dot cooked up.

I’m really excited about that. It’s just a regular hook. I can’t really sing it to you, you’re just going to have to hear it.

We can’t wait, Pete.

Two-9 Signs Record Deal With Eardruma Records/Interscope Records

Two-9 stays busy. They’ve been on tour with World’ Fair, released a line on Hypebeast, putting out quality project after project, and being featured as a Mic Check in The Source. Well now all of that hard work has paid off. They recently signed a recording deal with Mike WiLL’s Eardruma Records/Interscope Records. So now Curtis Williams, Retro Sushi (Jace & Ceej), and FatKidsBrotha (Lightskin Mac 11 & Dav.E) will be under the guidance of one of the biggest names in club bangers.

Mike WiLL had this to say about the move: “There hasn’t been a collective of creative coming out of Atlanta like Two-9 since Outkast. They have great energy, make dope music, and they’re always trying to push things forward, not box themselves in. I respect their art, their grind, and their whole movement, and I’m excited to help them take their brand to the next level.”

Two-9 will start working on their first official album with Mike WiLL at the helm of Executive Producer. Look forward from a lot more from Eardruma in the near future. You can watch the official signing of all the paperwork below.

Bryan Hahn wouldn’t mind signing to Eardruma Records since he stays in the No Flex Zone. Just check out his Twitter (@notupstate).

Watch Bas’ New Video For “Charles De Gaulle To JFK”

Finally, another video from ‘Last Winter’

Last night, Bas took the stage to open up for J. Cole on Cole’s Dollar & A Dream Tour, and today he releases a new video for one of the better tracks off his April album, Last Winter. LW was the first project Bas released after signing a deal with Interscope through J. Cole’s Dreamville label, and as he preps new music for the rest of the year, hopefully his dope new video for “Charles De Gaulle To JFK” will help hold you over.

Mike Will Made It Announces New Mixtape, ‘Ransom’

The album before the album

Mike Will Made It was expected to release his proper debut album, Est. In 1989 Pt. 3, at some point this year, and with the first single from that album, “Buy The World”, already out and picking up traction, we’d hope that’s still in MWMI’s plans for 2014. Regardless, new music is always welcomed, and he just revealed the artwork for his new mixtape, Ransom, that will feature all new music, unlike his last two projects, which were a combination of unreleased music and radio hits. Mike Will recently announced his upcoming collaboration with Young Thug, and has been photographed in the studio with several buzzing artists as of late, so we’re certainly looking forward to this new music.

Check out the artwork, which Mike Will revealed on his Instagram, below.


Check Out The Artwork & Tracklist To Robin Thicke’s New Album, ‘Paula’

thicke feet

This is really happening.

Here you have it, folks. Robin Thicke–as advertised–will be releasing his brand new album on July 1st, and it will be called Paula. It is quite an important album for Thicke, who is not only trying valiantly to get back in good graces with wife, Paula Patton–from whom he’s currently separated–but he’s also attempting to follow up a career year from him, in which he gave several landmark, nationally televised performances, debuted at #1 on the Billboard 200 and released the biggest record of his life, and arguably the biggest of the year, in “Blurred Lines”.

By the time Paula is released in just under two weeks, his last album, Blurred Lines, will not have even turned a year old, and it makes one wary of a possible under-performance from the veteran heartthrob, who doesn’t have a record nearly as impactful as “Blurred Lines” to help get Paula off the ground once July hits.

paula art

Time will tell. In the meanntime, we’ve also included the tracklist, which is noticeably void of guest appearances.

1. “You’re My Fantasy”
2. “Get Her Back”
3. “Still Madly Crazy”
4. “Lock the Door”
5. “Whatever I Want”
6. “Living in New York City”
7. “Love Can Grow Back”
8. “Black Tar Cloud”
9. “Too Little Too Late”
10. “Tippy Toes”
11. “Something Bad”
12. “The Opposite of Me”
13. “Time of Your Life”
14. “Forever Love”